Home Remedies, Roxanne

Natural Daily Remedies

I’ve been realizing there a handful of remedies/products I reach for daily or multiple times per day that most people might not even realize could help them.

Let’s start with coconut oil. You’ve seen it everywhere, but there’s good reason. I will talk about the ways I use it and begin with the obvious. Without getting too crazy about all the technical aspects, I’ll tell you what I know/remember from loads of research. It is naturally antimicrobial and antifungal, helps with digestion since it is easily assimilated into your body, is a great source of healthy fat for a well-rounded diet. I would highly recommend only purchasing unrefined, organic oil because I believe it retains more of the benefits than versions of oil that have been taken further from their natural state through processing. This Wellness Mama list is a helpful place for more information.

organic virgin coconut oil

  • Kitchen: Coconut oil has a high-heat smoke point so that makes it perfect for cooking almost anything. I use for sauteing vegetables, popping popcorn, shallow “frying” when making salmon or vegetable patties, and as a straight substitute for butter in baking (cakes, quick breads, muffins, etc).
  • Bath/Personal: Use as a dilution to add essentials to the bath. Body lotion – I’ve not purchased body lotion in years and although coconut oil is not the only oil I use for this purpose, I do certainly use it most often. For teeth and gum health, for oil pulling purposes and/or taken internally to remineralize teeth. On my face for moisturizer or cleaner using oil cleansing method (makes an excellent eye make-up remover).
  • Baby/Toddler: I think this is all I used on my first baby for any skin abrasion, diaper rash, help to remove cradle cap, and lotion after bath. I still use it (daily almost!) for cuts and scrapes and any other event that you would normally pull out the antibiotic ointment (such as Neosporin®).

Second, I reach for the following essential oils (usually in roller bottle form) all the time. I think one of the biggest hurdles to incorporating the healing properties of essential oils into daily life is the start-up factor. That is one of the main reasons Dana and I are making roller bottles ready-to-go pre-mixed with useful blends or made-to-order with custom blend requests. Before I used the roller bottles, I would scoop out a spoonful or two of coconut oil into a small jar, gently heat in the microwave, drop in my essential oils, mix with a chopstick and then scoop out with my finger to use. I cannot tell you how many times that whole (easy, but still…) process kept me from using the oils as the tools they are meant to be.

essential oils for everyday use

  • Lavender – For burns, cuts and scrapes.
  • Lavender+Frankincense – For any skin irritations including the above but more for bites,
  • Tea Tree (Melaleuca) – Added to an equal solution of vinegar + water for quick clean-ups when I am in need of mixing up a new batch of cleaner. It’s antibacterial properties are a great reassurance especially when cleaning the kitchen and bathroom areas.
  • Lavender+Lemon+Tea Tree or Peppermint – For allergies.
  • Peppermint – For headaches or a little pick-me-up, diluted on temples.

Third, I feel bad even including this, but a glass of water. So many things get better when I am fully hydrated. And remember, if you need to make sure you are hydrated for something like a sports event, start two to three days early if you are not in the routine of continually staying hydrated.

  • With half a lemon juiced into it, I use to wake up in the morning. I always make healthier eating choices all day if I start out this way. This routine from the Food Babe is even better.
  • If I feel a headache beginning.
  • If I’ve eaten too much junk food.
  • If my feet are feeling sore and tired.
  • If I find myself in the kitchen looking for snacks but am not hungry.

Okay, if you are still here, thank you!!! I have so much more to say about almost every line item on this list. So if you are at all interested in more of anything, please let me know. I am trying to balance between keeping things attainable and still being somewhat helpful without coming across as cryptic.

Leave a comment